Higashi no Eden (Eden of the East)

 
 

“The abuse of greatness is when it disjoins remorse from power.” – William Shakespeare, Julius Ceasar

 

A guy wakes up in Washington D.C. with no memory, stark naked, with a gun in his right hand and a phone on his left – a mobile phone charged with 8,200,000,000 yen in digital cash.

Jason Bourne has an anime lovechild.

Higashi no Eden: The best conspiracy ten billion yen can buy.

  1. I love the story. Best opening episode I have ever seen.
  2. I love the characters.
  3. I love the art style.
  4. I love the Oasis opening song. (The fact that the song was sung by Oasis is amazing by itself.)
  5. I love the Selecao phone.
  6. Somehow, the show has quite an interest in johnnies. (‘Johnny-Taker’. “My johnny gave you a reply.”) 

I feel like I there’s nothing more to say. The fact that it’s The Bourne Identity‘s lovechild is more than enough to make me watch it.

But I love it so much I can’t help but put this comment from NihonReview:

When it’s done right, the mystery genre can produce some of the most absorbing and unique stories in anime. Eden of the East is a fine example of the mystery genre done right, and it’s utterly captivating from its first few minutes. However, as the story evolves, it not only becomes more intricate, it also strives for relevance, making commentaries on politics, society and the corporate structure in Japan. All this is done with production values that are simply gorgeous: the animation is technically proficient, but Umino Chika’s character designs also lend it a quality of sweet charm and charisma. My only major complaint can almost be seen as a good thing: with the hanging ending, comes confirmation that there’s still more to come.

P.S.: I’d like to write an actual  review after a few daysweeksmonthsnear future one day. My laziness stops me from writing further than a note.

One thought on “Higashi no Eden (Eden of the East)

  1. Pingback: Higashi no Eden (Eden of the East): the best conspiracy 10 billion yen can buy « attempts to rule the world

Leave a Reply

