“Curiouser and curiouser!” The Magic of Alice in Wonderland

“Why, we’re all mad here. I’m mad, you’re mad.”

Lewis Carroll ought to have an altar somewhere. But then, perhaps having such an earthly altar would not even come close to his magic and enchantment? For what else can Alice in Wonderland be but those?

You see, I am quite at awe. I have never started and finished a book in a span of two hours. And I have never grinned like that in every chapter. And I never would have thought that Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland can do that. (You see, just until the minute before I started reading the book, I didn’t like Alice that much. I even wondered why a lot of people love it… Oh, the shame..) And by God did it do that.

I do love it. I find it most enchanting, superbly witty and fully engaging. It is now among my favorite classics (along with Peter Pan and others). And I shall recommend it to every person that goes my way (which I did, actually). I can quite say that if I were to post my favorite lines from the book here, I’d be posting something from every chapter.

I have one more thing I’d like to say:

The Mad Tea Party (the one with the Mad Hatter) is probably actually mad. Their conversations were so…. confusing and dumbfounding it left me with question marks popping in my head. And the Chesire Cat (you know, the eternally grinning almost-creepy fading cat?), he’s my favorite character.


Leave a Reply

